Books Oklahoma

Books Oklahoma:

From short stories to lengthy novels, find out about the best books and authors from Oklahoma.

Books News from NewsOK

Video & interview: Author and journalist Lee Woodruff tells her family's story at Oklahoma City Girl Scout event
A version of this story appears in Monday's Your Life section of The Oklahoman. Lee Woodruff’s life changed with a phone call. On Jan. 29, 2006, her husband, Bob Woodruff, the new co-anchor of “ABC World News Tonight,” was badly injured by a roadside bomb while reporting on the war in Iraq. The... Read More
'In an Instant': Best-selling writer Lee Woodruff speaks at OKC Girl Scouts event
A New York Times best-selling author, freelance journalist and member of the Oklahoma City National Memorial National Advisory Board, Woodruff, 56, recently shared her family’s journey at the annual Juliette Low Leadership Society luncheon at Oklahoma City Golf & Country Club. Read More
What to do in Oklahoma on Feb. 26, 2017: Shop for bargains at the Friends of the Metropolitan Library Book Sale
Today's featured events: Shop for bargains on the final day of the 2017 Metropolitan Library Book Sale, from 9 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. today at Oklahoma Expo Hall at State Fair Park. Hosted by the Friends of the Metropolitan Library System, admission is free and open to the public. The Friends of the... Read More
Full steam ahead for Oklahoma author
L.M. Fry is an Edmond mom of three who fell in love with writing while working on a project intended for her kids. Read More
Author Jennifer Latham to highlight Educators' Night at Edmond bookstore
Author Jennifer Latham will highlight an Educators' Night from 6 to 7:30 p.m. Thursday at Best of Books, 1313 E Danforth Road. Read More
Poetry collections
Does your heart cry out for poetry? If so, you may want to check out these poetry collections. Read More
Book review: Carter Wilson's 'Revelation' is a thriller with a capital T
Book review: Carter Wilson's 'Revelation' is a thriller with a capital T Read More
'Bear: The Life and Times of Augustus Owsley Stanley II' focuses on Grateful Dead sound man
Augustus Owsley Stanley II was known as "the father of American LSD" and was affiliated closely with the Grateful Dead. Read More
Book review: 'Jasper and the Riddle of Riley's Mine' by Caroline Starr Rose
Jasper is 11 years old and ready to get out from under his father's roof. Read More
Oklahoma and Publishers Weekly best-sellers
Oklahoma and Publishers Weekly best-sellers Read More
Oklahoma authors to sign book about marriage equality
Sharon and Mary Bishop-Baldwin will sign "Becoming Brave: Winning Marriage Equality in Oklahoma and Finding our Voice" at 6 p.m. March 2 at Full Circle Bookstore. Read More
Book review: 'Midnight Without a Moon' by Linda Williams Jackson
"Midnight Without a Moon" is a window into one of the more shameful eras in American history, as seen through the eyes of 13-year-old Rose Lee Carter. Read More
The post-human world
A conversation about the end of work, individualism, and the human species with the historian Yuval Harari, in The Atlantic.  Read More
Will This App Turn More Readers On to Serialized Fiction?
Releasing a chapter at a time, Radish could have us binge reading romance and mystery novels Read More
The Kodachrome life of the 'Ambassador of Americana'
Based in Los Angeles, Charles Phoenix occasionally leads retro tours of his hometown — taking guests to vintage downtown spots such as Union Station, Olvera Street and Clifton's Cafeteria — as well as others such as Palm Springs, California, Las Vegas and Nashville. Read More
Book review: 'Silver City' perfect for fans of John Wayne and Zane Grey
“Silver City” is a rousing Western adventure, and one this ol’ cowboy fan found very satisfying. Read More
Oklahoma and Publishers Weekly best-sellers
Oklahoma and Publishers Weekly best-sellers Read More
Book signing
Book signing Read More
Photobomb, face-palm, microaggression: Merriam Webster adds 1,000 fresh words to the dictionary
It was a bumper year for the hyphenated or two-part phrases you have most likely used, or perhaps spotted pasted over a photo of Captain Jean-Luc Picard. Welcome the face-palm (the act of covering one's face with a hand, out of dismay or embarrassment, as demonstrated by the good Starfleet captain), along with... Read More
YA novel 'Dreamland Burning' explores Tulsa race riots
Jennifer Latham's young adult novel, "Dreamland Burning," examines the Tulsa race riots through the perspective of two characters. One lives in the present day; the other lives in 1921. Read More



NOTE:


If you have a suggestion for a topic, send it to Communities Editor Don Gammill by email to bgammill@opubco.com; by mail to Communities Editor, P.O. Box 25125, Oklahoma City, OK 73125; or call him at 475-3932.
Advertisement


  • Recent Posts

Read more Okie Reads

Multimedia

Videoview all videos

Tweens program offered at Guthrie Library thumbnail

Tweens program offered at Guthrie Library

Dec 9The Guthrie Public Library has created a program for tweens that...

Edmond library back in business thumbnail

Edmond library back in business

Dec 5The Edmond library re-opened Monday after a four-week closure for...

Rescue Rundown Episode 56: RedRover Readers thumbnail

Rescue Rundown Episode 56: RedRover Readers

Oct 19The Central Oklahoma Humane Society is looking for volunteers for...

Parties Extra: Sunbeam Family Services  thumbnail

Parties Extra: Sunbeam Family Services

Sep 16The local organization has released a new book "Changed Lives: A...

 Feed the Children teacher school thumbnail

Feed the Children teacher school

Aug 2Oklahoma teachers gather for store opening to receive books and...